WW2 1/600 Wildcat’s – first of a new scale and period

One painting project which has been on the back burner for a while is painting some 1/600 aircraft for use with the CY6! rules. I finally managed to finish 7 of the US wildcats this week, so thought I would put up some pictures. These are me starting painting in a new period and scale for these rules and it’s the first time I have tried aircraft or figs this small.

The planes are from Tumbling dice and the decals from Dom’s decals. I like both I have to say. However, I have had a fun time trying to get and keep the magnets on these planes, and then paint them. I still need to get better at painting and dealing with this scale, as there is a different style and level of control needed for handling these planes.

Overall though I think they came out o.k – but not great. The perfectionist in me is not really happy with these or the length of time it took to paint them in the end. Ah well. I have more to do now as well as the Japanese, their opponents before I can really play a game with them.

First 3 planes painted as the Marine aircraft on Henderson field, Guadalcanal 1942. I will do at least 1 more of these:

The 4 carrier based aircraft from the same period:

And a better shot of 2 of them:

Lastly, a poor picture but it shows the size of the models:

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in Aircarft. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

