Chaos warriors and deadflat varnish

After clearing up the basement earlier in the month and finding a whole set of unloved old GW figs, I decided to try out some a new techniques and product on a few old chaos warriors I got many years ago. I had 4 which came painted when I bough the figs second hand, and so wanted the remaining 8  to match the new figs to the old so they could be a single unit. Overall this army will be good to practice with and in the end will still be to a good table standard – I hope.

The figs themselves painted up quicker than I expected. I tried using a ‘dead flat’ varnish as a finish. Overall the paint job for the figs is reasonable but I’m not that happy with the varnish result. It spoils some of the detail in the figs and paint job I did which is a bad thing IMO. It sort of makes them look a little out of focus even in real life. 😦

So that’s another varnish to avoid. I can see why people end up not varnishing figs…

Here is a pics of the end results – 4 basic warriors:

And the final result with all 12 together as a unit – overall they are not bad on the table but I’m disappointed in the varnish:


About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 28mm, Warhammer Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

