The skys over Guadalcanal get more aircraft

After a delay I have managed to get some more 1/600 planes done. I always feel that these should be quick to paint up, but it seems to take longer than I expect to do these models. Anyway, I have extended the aircraft I have to support more of the air battle over the island of Guadalcanal.

I have added 12 zero’s, 6 kate torpedo bombers, 10 betty bombers for the Japanese, as well as 6 aircobra’s and another 5 wildcats. This should allow some interesting games with CY6 rules set. I will be adding some more Japanese planes to the painted collection soon as I have 12 Sally bombers on the painting table next.

Getting the right colour for the Japanese planes was not easy, and I’m still not convinced that I have it perfect. What I have is from a light wash on a GW base paint Dhenen Stone. However, it looks something like many of the pictures I researched and supposedly the colours of paint were not perfect, so they will have too. Fine lining on the lighter planes was done with a sharp pencil, while the on the dark green Betty’s I used a draftsmen pen. This was easier than trying to paint, or get the lines to show via using washes.

I’m using Dom’s decals on the planes which I have to say do finish them off nicely. I just do the decals on the sides and upper wing surfaces. I don’t expect to use the planes up side down so save putting the decals on the bottom – but I do paint that of course.

So a shot of all the ‘newly painted’ planes – from front to back, Kate’s, Zero’s then the Betty’s and in the back the US Aircobra’s and Wildcats:

So then a couple of close ups. I must admit, I like the way the Aircobra’s came out – even if they were not the greatest planes in reality they look nice models.

And a sample of each of the Japanese aircraft (well 2 zero’s):

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in Aircarft. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

