6mm Baccus Danish GNW -first elements painted

So, this eve I spent some time getting 3 small bases  – 24 figures of the foot painted. They are not properly based or varnished yet though. First there was the grenadier base:And then two of the normal foot – both have buff facings:

Overall these came out o.k. in person and I am surprised/pleased with how well they have come out. I know the pictures are not great but hopefully you get the effect and level of detail painted – good but not great, as normal i.e. I painting turn backs, cuffs, belts etc but I have not black lined them. You can also see the missing muskets on the grenadiers. 😦 Also, please remember the pictures are approx 3 times the size of the figs here. As I paint more I’ll do more general shots but I have to these are harder to photograph due to their size.

However, I have to say that so far I have found the painting harder overall, than doing 15mm’s. Now let me qualify that. There is less to paint so the painting is faster but it needs more concentration to do. Brush strokes have to be precise, the brush has to loaded with the right amount of paint and the target you want the paint on is very small. There is little room for error in this scale if you want the figures to look reasonable. A natural advantage is that the scale is it is a little too small for much black lining other than what can be achieved. As an aside, I also can’t paint these for as long as a 15mm fig without a break, which is telling on the concentration needed. That’s why I’m doing this post now – taking a break.

So at this stage of my trial I would not recommend this scale for a beginner painter. A good, experienced painter with good tools will likely find them faster and easier to paint than I do. However, I found the painting details, such as belts and turn backs required more concentration (because of the above mentioned items) over 15mm. To make the figures work and be historical requires nearly the same basic number of colours as I would use on a 15mm – but there I would likely shade more etc. I used 2 washes to get the effect I was after, such as on the coat and the exposed flesh. This is less than I would use on a 15mm fig plus I used little true dry brushing other than on the basic uniform. There is still a fair amount of detail to be painted on the figs though. That can be good or bad. I do recommend choosing paints and effect which do not need a wash other than at the end, as I found touch ups were a pain after the uniform wash in this scale.

It’s definitely been quicker than painting 15mm figs though – I did the approx 24 figs in approx a quarter or maybe less of the time of the same number of 15mm’s. Some of that time gain would be lost though doing a real army painting project though, as you use more basic figures on a base.

So at present I’m still on the fence for 6mm. More painting and the next larger batch of foot will see if I speed up and find it easier over time.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 18th Cent, 6mm. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 6mm Baccus Danish GNW -first elements painted

  1. Nice work – I play in 6mm (WWII) but it’s always good to see other’s work.

Leave a Reply

