GW Mounted Chaos Marauders

These are part of an initiate in the local club, too complete some previous unfinished projects (which I happen to have a lot of it must be said). So while finishing off the 15mm Prussians I decided to work on some mounted Chaos Marauders from GW. You’ll see a few more of these projects in the coming weeks.

I obtained these figures in a half painted state (just the horses and bases were complete) in a purchase many years ago. The horses are o.k. but I’d likely have used putty to get rid of the join lines on the models etc if I was doing them myself. However, I really did not feel like cleaning them off to redo this. So, they have been sitting in my ‘to be painted’ queue for a long time. Thus, as part of the finishing projects work I thought I’d give them some love and finish them off.

I was going to use the army wash on these, but in the end did not and just went with a matt paint on varnish. Overall, I’m happy with how these came out, and although I did not go too town on the paint effects I think they are o.k. I aimed to make them a little brighter vs. my typical historical ‘dark tone’ finish, which I think worked. The standard was the only area I ‘compromised’ on, going for simple runes on a basic background vs. anything too advanced. Advanced standards are works of art in themselves and are a challenge for my skill level and this unit did not motivate me enough to try that.  So what I did is more than o.k. but not great.

They also should go with the previous unit of chaos warriors.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 28mm, Warhammer Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

