More Japanese 1/600 Japanese WW2 planes

It seems I have been making very little progress at times on this project, but I have slowly been painting up some more 1/600 aircraft for the pacific WW2 theater. I find fixing the magnets for basing on these models to be a challenge. I have moved from the 2 part epoxy glue I tried back to super glue. We’ll see how long the superglue lasts but I found the epoxy very messy and in the end was not holding the magnets any better than superglue, as long as a good bond could be made between the magnet and the model. That last part seems to to be the key.

All the models are from Tumbling Dice and I used a black undercoat, with basic block colours, some washes and black lining on the models. The cockpits were done with dark grey and then light grey/blue to highlight the windows. I must admit I like the effect. I think I’m slowly getting the hang of painting the planes in this scale. They do take more time than I had thought though.

So to the planes. The first 3 served through all the war. The last started the war in China, but really was out of mainline service by ’42.

So first a couple of pictures of some Mitsubishi Ki-21 (Sally) heavy bomber.

Next are some Japanese army Nakajima Ki-43 (Ocscar) planes. These alone with the zero’s (of which they were sometimes confused) were the main fighters for Japan in the whole length of the war.

The Kawasaki Ki-61 (Tony) was one of the best Japanese planes in the war. I tied hard to emulate the late war ‘speckled’ paint effect which was used by the Japanese as the availability of good quality paint was reduced. I tried various patterns and I do like most of the results.

The last plane is the Nakajima Ki-27 (Nate) or (Abdul) – the later was used as a code name by the British. This served in China in the early years of the war and was one of the fighter planes which the Flying Tigers (the 1st American Volunteer Group) faced in Dec ’41/Jan ’42. It has distinctive fixed landing gear of the ‘between the wars’ fighters.

So next for the plane painting, I plan on trying some Korean jets and maybe some more US opponents to these, as I now have a reasonable selection of 1/600 Japanese planes to use.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in Aircarft. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More Japanese 1/600 Japanese WW2 planes

  1. Doug Bath says:

    very nice. I have very little experience painting, but I’ve been mulling over getting into 1/700 or 1/600 planes for gamming use. I like yours. Very nice.

    Too bad for me there is no pre-painted maker of these little sizes.

    • mellis1644 says:

      The 1/600 scale and planes are really good for games we have found. You can tell the plane types without breaking the bank or going too much to town on the painting. I try to get as nice a finish on the planes, but if playing casually a basic one would be fine on the table.

  2. simonsmrt says:

    very VERY nice. I have recently discovered this scale and am currently in the process of converting many old Avalon Hill style wargames with 3d tumbling dice versions. First up and perhaps too ambitiously are about 160 aircraft representing Sqns/Gruppen/Stormo’s for a Battle of Britain game, once my mate has gotten round to painting them for me (2 years on and only Hurricanes, He111’s and Blenheims done so far………….) it’ll be a much smaller amount of aircraft representing entire Luftflotten etc for the Russian Front and then onto the Spanish Civil War.
    I really like the scale and its a relatively cheap one as well

Leave a Reply

