DAK recruits finished

I have finished a few extra items for my DAK (Deutsches Afrikakorps – i.e. the German army in the desert) Flames of war army for WW2 gaming.

The first is a recon platoon. This gives the army a little armed more speed and the armored car’s give more strength vs. infantry, but not against armoured fighting vehicles though. These are battlefront models and my major complaint with these is that the turrets are a tight fit for the base models.

I also picked up some Zvezba 1:100 scale kits – which are part of their art of war  range. The first of these is a Panzer 3J (Late), which bulks up the mid war tank platoon I have. Here is the picture of that alone:

And then next to the battlefront tank.  The Zvezba is the one on the left.

So far the plastic took the paint without issue and has no issues for obvious issues. So I hope to use these as a source for more early war German vehicles.

Lastly, I got 2 Zvezba Panzer 4D kits from a local shop. I painted these up as an early war tank support platoon for the army. I may get a couple more but in Flames of war these are expensive troops.

I have to say that the Zvezba models painted up well and are easy kits to put together. The turret does remove on these plastic models, but it’s not as easy of Battlefront ones, as can be seen below. This is my one issue with these plastic kits so far:

All of these are all to add to my existing DAK German Desert army – which you can see more of in the following link above.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 15mm, World War 2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

