Hittite/Ancient Syrian Chariots

As a final item of the “finish off some stale projects” I did some Hittite/Syrian chariots which have been sitting around in my unpainted pile for a long time. These will expand my existing New Kingdom Egyptian and Hittite armies and gives me the possibility of fielding the Hittites models as Ancient Syrians as well. The Egyptian’s (especially the new Kingdom) used Syrian vassal chariots in some of their armies which is why I can use these with that army, as these can be used in that army in this manner.

Although only 16 finished chariots these took some painting, as there is a quite a lot of work involved in painting up chariots. I kept the basing the same as the existing army, but would likely do more to improve upon what I did if I was starting this army again. However, these are one of the first armies that I ever really painted in 15mm and so I wanted to ensure that I kept to the same basic scheme.

So to the chariots. Note, 6 of these are ‘3 man chariots’, the rest are ‘2 man ones’. The reason for the difference is that the 3 man chariots  can be heavy in some rules sets. All have simple – but hopefully effective patterns in the chariot themselves.


With the spare figures from the chariots who were not 5 man ones I created a small unit of skirmishers for the army as well. Here is a picture of these figures. I doubt these will be used much but it was a shame not to finish them off.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 15mm, Ancients. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hittite/Ancient Syrian Chariots

  1. David Howard says:

    Nice work. What were your reference materials for color schemes and shield patterns?

    • mellis1644 says:

      Thanks. There are a few Osprey books on the subject and some deeper historical books but not much, especially in colour. I mostly used my own imagination but tried to keep the colours at least to ones which I think were likely available for the time frame. I assumed some basic shield patterns as I did not really want to do them just as basic leather/skin. Sorry I can’t b a lot more help.

Leave a Reply

