One day Bloodbowl Troll

After playing with my Orcland Raiders team a couple of times I found they needed a bit more bashing power. I need to roll and play a lot better as well, but that’s a different issue! So with an upcoming competition I decided to paint up a Troll for the team.

As time is pressing, I used one of the figures I have around as a Troll for the team – which happens to be a figure from the old Games Workshop Warhammer Fantasy base box. It’s not the best model in that set and definitely not one of my first choices, but it works for what I needed in this case.

The figure was completely done in a day (from sticking it together with plastic glue, undercoating black and then to the finished paint job). I then varnished it – which takes time to dry.

I was going to remove the stone the model has over it’s head and try to remodel the hands but that’s a significant effort and I just do not have time for that in this case. So instead the Troll has a ‘favorite rock’ to have on the field of play, which includes some graffiti in typical Ork manner. After all who is going to stop a Troll carrying a rock if it wants too.

The green/yellow skin contrasts came out well and I stayed with the same, green, black, white and grey tones of the rest of the team. So he fits in well.

Overall, it’s not a competition level paint result, but I am happy with the final result. It’s not an embarrassment on the table, which the the key point after all.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 28mm, BloodBowl, Warhammer Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One day Bloodbowl Troll

  1. Tristan says:

    I guess this means you are taking the orcs for Canadian Open?
    I expect you will get a lot of “Throw a Rock” kickoff results 😉

    • mellis1644 says:

      I think so – but might at the last minute take Lizards.I’ll be bringing both teams. In my a trial game with a stand in model for the Troll it got KO’ed for an entire half by a thrown rock from the crowd. With this model he likely dropped it on his toe.

  2. UncleDredd says:

    Love this guy – he has plenty of character, rock and all! In fact, he’d look pretty sweet carrying that stonework lined up against a dwarf team… kinda like he stole it from their stadium or something. 🙂

Leave a Reply

