SYW Allied army complete

Well I guess the title says it all.I have completed my Seven Years War allied force (for now anyway). So I thought I’d add a couple of pictures of the whole things vs. the parts which you can see in previous posts. Overall I’m very happy with the results.

Each base is 60x30mm and I started the project in January. So that’s a full army in under 3 months – it took me a nearly a year to do that for Lasalle in 15mm! That’s 16 bases of cavalry, 2 artillery, 6 skirmishers, 6 Grenadier, 8 Hessian, 10 British and 8 Hanoverian infantry bases. Oh and 6 sub commanders and 1 main commander base.

I took the army to show at the club last week and got several comments that it looks better in the flesh than in the pictures! Overall the guys really liked the scale and the look/feel of the whole thing. I take that as a complement, but that is one of the limits of me taking pictures of this scale as well. Ah well. One more from the side:

This force really does look like an army on the table. I’m becoming a convert to this scale, the more I paint. I also found painting this scale enjoyable as that’s great. Below is the force in carrying cases, another advantage for this scale – it’s portable without being too heavy or taking up too much space.

In the end I may add a little more cavalry, but I have enough for Might and Reason, and likely the Maurice rules set, so time to move on to other projects for a while.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 18th Cent, 6mm. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SYW Allied army complete

  1. These look fantastic! Just caught myself doing happy hands 😉

Leave a Reply

