More Anglo-Danish Spearmen

I managed to finish off another set of re-enforcements for my SAGA Anglo-Danish/Anglo-Saxon force. Really I did that last weekend but managed to take a couple of photo’s to do this post now. This adds another 16 models to the available list.

As normal each shield is different in the unit.Again my poor photography means the flash  really sparkles on the varnish on these figures. I need to work out how to avoid that – but you and I’ll will just have to live with it for now.First are some armoured spear men. These guys could be warriors or even hearth-guard, if I don’t want them to be armed with two handed axes. I purposely kept them in the red and green colours and the cloaks are reddish brown. This gives them a general unit like appearance, but does make them a little the same, but that was intentional. Interesting the poses are more action style which means their heads are down.Next are some unarmored spear men. I also went with less defined spears for these guys, so rather than the specific spearhead they just have poles with the metal spear head. This highlights the difference between these and their heavily armoured colleagues. Again I kept to the red and greens theme but for the most part I tried to give these guys darker shades and used heavy washes to darken the colours. I plan on doing another 16 of these unarmoured guys next, so they can be used as warriors, or for the Anglo-Saxon’s as the levies – as I’ll then have 24 of them, enough for two units of Anglo-Saxon levies, which is likely more than I would ever really field for Saga.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 28mm, SAGA. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Anglo-Danish Spearmen

  1. That crimson red is nice – what colours are you using?

Leave a Reply

