Preparation of Longstreet forces

Well with vacation and work hobby stuff has slowed down but I’m continuing to slowly progress my ACW forces for the soon to be released Longstreet game by San Mustafa. I’m also trying posting via the mobile app – so we’ll see how this goes.

I have the first of my federal forces on the painting table, which should be finished soon – and shown here later. But for the last week or so, I have been busy basing and preparing the rest of the figures I have. So I thought I’d show the work in progress in this post.

I may get a few more figs in the end, but these will keep me busy for a while. There are approx 70 union infantry bases – plus art, limbers and a cav unit, as well as 50 or so more rebels.

The additional rebel units:20130727-130150.jpg

These are all cleaned up (with a craft knife and/or fine sanding paper to remove flash), based, with a mix of sand added to the base. I then have undercoated them with Gesso black paint. The clean up needs to be done with care as I have found missing this really shows up and spoils a figure if you do washes In the painting (as i do). The coverage of the gesso does not have to be perfect but I try to put an even coat on the figs. It does provide a clean black colour to work from and also creates a better bond for acrylic paint. I used to always spray with spray paint but these days I use the paint on gesso more. I like the control and it seems to last/hold as well as spray undercoat.

The union forces:20130727-130413.jpg
20130727-130507.jpg
So these are ready to move to the painting stage. I’m still not sure if I have too many or not enough bases for a big battle, but If I can get these done in the next few weeks/months I’ll be happy. My aim is to have a fully painted forces ready when I get the full Longstreet rules to play.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 10mm, American Civil War, Techniques. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

