PoP – D-day Hawker Typhoon

PtoP

When some of the guys in the THMG group came up with the idea of ‘Pewter to Poppie’s, which is painting up and selling a mini for charity – the Canadian veterans charity Wounded Warriors to be precise, I really could do nothing other than volunteer for the task!

I’m not the best painter in the world and this is a busy time for me work wise, but this is a worthy charity if ever there is one. Thus, I made the time for this. The aim is to paint up a single mini and then the club will sell them all on ebay – all proceeds going to the charity. To that mind, I wanted to go with a model which was fitting and yet also would be viable when someone bought it.

So I decided to paint up a 15mm D-Day Typhoon aircraft. A very fitting aircraft for the time and with the FoW game these days very useful as well. The model is from a 3 set I had from Battlefront so is a ‘proper’ Battlefront/Flames of War model. That may be important to some people who play tournaments etc.

Below you can see the results of my painting efforts. It’s not too bad at all and this should soon go on ebay. If nothing else I suggest you look at the other models in the event as well. Some are very impressive.

The model is all hand painted – I don’t have a sprayer and I actually went from a less than perfect paint look – I know the real aircraft look as pristine looking as some people have their models.Front view Battlefront D-Day Typhoon 15mm So overall I think it’s come out ok.

Side view Battlefront D-Day Typhoon 15mm

Bottom view of Battlefront D-Day Typhoon 15mm

So there we are. As a last thought, today is to remembering all those hero’s, both the living and the dead from all the various wars and on all sides, who have fought for what we have today. This charity work is for those hero’s who survived and they will get all the money raised. However, I’ll just close with the poem I remember most from the remembrance service, for those who are beyond our help.

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.

From Laurence Binyon’s poem For the Fallen, written in September 1914

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 15mm, Aircarft, World War 2. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to PoP – D-day Hawker Typhoon

  1. Turned out well, nice work!

Leave a Reply

