Flooded South East Asian rice fields

As part of my slow progress of gaming in the Vietnam War and Burma in WW2 I need to provide terrain for the period. A key feature for rural villages as well as the buildings while I finished previously are rice fields.
20140125-161253.jpgSo you can see I have done a selection. The base is 3mm MDF then the slopes are mode from foam core, with tile grout to add texture.20140125-161917.jpgThis makes them raised but not stupidly so. The raised edges should and will provide cover- like walls in games for figs on the other side. You can see the size against 2 Vietnam 15mm figs below. 20140125-162210.jpgThe painting was simple and I tried to give them a bit of texture- the water is a dark blue/brown the the dividers are several greens with some green flock as well. I thought about adding some growing rice but at this point I’m happy with how these look so will leave then for now

Considering I’m still learning to do terrain I’m quite happy how these have come out.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in Terrain, Vietnam War, World War 2. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flooded South East Asian rice fields

  1. Looks good so far. Did you consider applying some layer of clear varnish or acrylic gloss medium to give the ponds more depth and give an impression of standing water? Epoxy Resin might be an idea, too, as you have the walls on each side already, so it won’t flow away.

    • mellis1644 says:

      I thought about it but I wanted to see how these go and survive the rigors of storage/play. From pictures I have seen the mater really is very muddy in most flooded fields so they won’t have much depth. But great idea for my next ones. ūüôā

Leave a Reply

