6mm Saxons ready for a fight

Ok so when I finished the last of the dark age – erm early medieval 6mm forces in 6mm I said I was done with those for a little bit. But I found I had bought enough figs from Baccus for a Saxon force.

So, I had to finish those off. It just makes sense- ok not really but what the heck. These will use the mounted units I’ve done previously if they have any cavalry in the army.20140208-143419.jpgFirst the basic warriors. These will work for normal spear in DBA or standard units for Hail Caesar. 20140208-143651.jpgGenerally early Saxons may have had slightly smaller shields but in 6mm these work for me.20140208-143718.jpgNext we have the better warriors. These have more figs on the base and all have a banner. 20140208-143938.jpgThe banners although well cast are likely to come off over time. For my 18th cent 6mm I always replace the cast on flagpoles to avoid this. For these if the fall off I’ll not worry about it.20140208-144041.jpgLastly, the commanders stand. This had the most figs and most have chain mail as well! 20140208-144349.jpgAs you can see, I have marked the back if the better units to help identify them in play.20140208-144539.jpgFinally, a picture from above the bases. You can see the different units from the number of figs and their formations- as such.20140208-144639.jpg

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 6mm, Ancients. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 6mm Saxons ready for a fight

  1. Cool to see some nice 6mm miniatures. What game are you going to play with them?

    • mellis1644 says:

      Thanks. These are mainly for Dux Bellorum (the original inspiration for the project) and Hail Caesar. The bases are the right size for DBA and impetus as well so those are much less likely options.

  2. HestonFan says:

    I really like the way you modeled your saxons.

    I have discovered that by basing 6mm models on the 60mm frontage the stands can resemble different units more easily.
    It looks like you are doing something similiar. I really doubt depth of stands is really that important in DbA.

Leave a Reply

