Another quick Cryx diversion

Very early on when doing this blog (now a few years ago) I had a little diversion and dipped a toe into Warmachine figure painting. After that I never really have looked at that rules set much again other than to play a single game, which was again put on this blog. However, I have over the last couple of years had chance to pick up some more of the figures, second hand. I really do like the figs for the game. So, when looking at these while tidying up around my painting table the other day I thought I should at least start to do something with them! Thus, below are the most painted  Cryx figs from the used figs I have acquired over the last couple of years or so. I decided I would work on these and do them up so I could use them. Fist we have the ‘before’ picture.Cryx-before (800x477)These are not badly painted really, but chipped and not well finished off. Rather than strip them completely and start from scratch I thought I’d try to ‘touch them up’ and repaint as required, then varnish them. I know for the perfections and great painters out there that’s sacrilege, but I’m not that proud and this is a great way to make these mine without spending a long time on them. Most of the paint was not that bad a choice of colours for my existing Cryx models so does somewhat match my scheme. It’s just needed TLC and adding a reasonable amount of detail/varnish. A big advantage to me for this was that the paint was not put on heavy so all the details were still visible and usable. Below is the end result – the after.touched up CryxAfter working on the basing and doing some major detail work on some of the figures I now have another 4 machines I can add to my Cryx collection. Here is the big nasty warjack. After taking the photo’s I can see that I need to go over the black of the base to tidy them up, which I missed. Oh well I’m not retaking the photo’s. <sigh>Big cryx 1 big Cryx2 Big cryx 3I’m really not that knowledgeable as to whether these will be a good addition to my force but I do like the figs and that’s the main thing for me! It was nice to just spend a little time to finish more of these models – although I have a lot more Cryx to paint up as well. IMG_2062 (800x398) IMG_2065 (791x800)To show you how well these match now can see the old and the new together below. I think they combine really nicely  especially as they are not meant to be clones etc.Old and New Cryx modelsSo next I really should focus on getting some other units painted for this force.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 28mm, Warmachine. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another quick Cryx diversion

  1. The little guys extend the range of your spell; most of your warcasters will make good use of them. The big guy is a glass cannon, but hits like a ton of bricks; I’ve always been partial to them.

    FMB

  2. Argentbadger says:

    Good painting. Seeing the before-and-after shots is really interesting.

Leave a Reply

