Updated Necomunda Goliath gang

Many years ago, and after college for me, where I was able to always borrow other peoples collections of figures for games, I first start daubing paint on figures. At the time there was a newish game from GW called Necomunda just out. I was taken by the game and played quite a lot at the time, I still think it’s one of GW’s best along with Bloodbowl. Even then I wanted to play with painted miniatures but I was not a great painter – all the years since have helped but I’m still no master with the brush.

Recently, I have been looking at various multi-player gang/pulp skirmish games and thus needed more force options. So I decided to look back at my Necomunda stuff to see if it was usable. Overall it was not as bad as I remembered but definitely needed work IMO. So I decided to see what I could do with touch ups vs. striping and repainting the figs completely. This post shows the results of that work on the Goliath gang. These have big models and have a red theme and heavy eye makeup. This work did take a little longer than I had hoped to complete but the results are reasonable for the table.Goliath leader and heavy Above you can see the leader and heavy weapons guy of the gang and below are the juveniles aka juves (or young gang members) if I remember correctly. All the figures have had various touch ups, detail re-added/painted for highlight and the skin especially redone. However, one of the biggest changes was the basing. Goliath juvies The original bases I had were just pain grey and so I decided to see what I could do to them. I decided I’d try to hobby make them as well vs. buying the pre-modeled ones. I decided to try a rock slab/pavement type theme for the gang and went at it with poly-filler and a sculpting tool. Although a little primitive I’m actually happy with how they turned out. As I did more I got a little better at it as well as this is an option for me for basing other models.

The new basing does drastically change the overall look of the models. Although maybe not the best for a futuristic gang I’m sure they will fit in with most games/settings. They should work against the Judge Dredd and other figs ok. The overall basing style though is one I likely will use for my fantasy figures if I plan on using them in skirmish games like Frostgrave.Goliath gang members 1 Goliath gang members 2 Goliath gang members 3 Below you can see the full gang – with their Id letters on the bases. This helps for the bigger games, and especially as the 12 plastic gang figs do look very similar. Goliath gang backSo there we are. I’ll likely try to do the same with some of the other Necoumda gangs I have, but I do not want to reuse this basing style other than on fantasy figures. Next I may try some sci-fi style basing.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 28mm, Sci-fi, Superhero, Techniques, Terrain. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Updated Necomunda Goliath gang

  1. I think you need a choppa, just so they can get to it.

    • mellis1644 says:

      These are long out of production so I doubt I’ll be getting anything new – unless GW does start producing more as is rumored. I hope to use them for a Pulp Alley game though at some point.

  2. Argentbadger says:

    Classic miniatures, though I don’t really feel like most of them have aged that well. The Juves look a bit like War Boys from Mad Max: Fury Road now that I see them again (or more accurately, it is the other way round). Nice painting on them.

Leave a Reply

