My personal December challenge

I mentioned earlier in the year that in the background to my normal painting I have slowly been working on a medium sized 15mm French Napoleonic force, roughly based on the Lasalle army builder. It’s a core infantry force with a couple of the cavalry support options. I have slowly been doing this but have not shown them here as they are not finished, and I have other things which are, to show.

However, I said to myself that I was going to get this done this year and the year is starting to come to an end rapidly. So, I decided to set myself a challenge and see what I could do to meet the original timeline. Thus, my plan is that I’m going to try to get all the French done by the New Year. My aim is to get the figures painted, based and varnished level – that allows me to finish the basing of the whole force in one go in the New Year.

What I have to complete are 7 units and a few command figs of my sort of Lasalle French force in 15mm, to do.  So to complete the challenge I have the following targets:

  • 1 large unit of Cuirassiers ( 6 bases so 18 figs),
  • a single commander base (2 figs),
  • 2 units of Horse Chasseurs (4 bases each so 24 figs total),
  • 2 units of Dragoons (4 bases each so 24 figs total),
  • a unit of Horse Art (3 guns plus crew & limber),
  • a unit of Foot Art (4 guns plus crew & limber)
  • and Napoleon’s mounted command staff ( 8 figs).

That’s approx 100 mini’s (actually a few more)  in the month.  We’ll see if I manage it, but that’s my personal challenge & aim for the month of December, and a good way to get this project done and dusted before the New Year. I hope…

A couple of other guys in the group have joined me in a stating their painting aims to see if we can meet our goals for this month. I’ll let you know how I go on in January how I go on – but I already have a couple of unrelated blog entries I want to do in December, so there will be the usual variety of posts  here.

As a last item, it did not seem right to not have any pictures so here is a quick view of the units I have already done to the target level. It’s 12 infantry units, a unit of dragoons, a large foot art unit and a units of Cuirassiers. You can click on the pictures to get a better view if your interested.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 15mm, Napoleonic. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My personal December challenge

  1. Good luck with your painting challenge, I hope to paint my Dux Bellorum 15mm Picts and Romano British

  2. Good lord, that’s even more than I thought.

    FMB

    • mellis1644 says:

      Yes well… I was hoping to get more done earlier in the year. So this is my aim to focus on the rest and see how many I really can get done. Not sure I’ll complete it all but I hope it will be close. 😉

Leave a Reply

