Myth monsters and an odd hero

Following on from doing all the heroes which I have posted here is a quick one with some of the bigger monsters that came in the kickstarter. You can see them all below. These were a fun set of fantasy figs to do. I’m still not sure of their place in the game though but these big guys were part of the reason for me getting on that first kickstarter – so I had to paint them. Oh and yes I still have to read the rules <sigh>IMG_0397 (800x494)This group does include one extra hero- so that;s why there is a grey base. It’s kind of a plant creature so I did this one in greens and browns.I’m still not 100% satisfied on how this figure has come out. It’s ok and kind of what I was after but I’m not really happy with the end result. It is very earthy and organic but I wonder if I should have done more highlighting or something on the model. See what you think. You can click on the picture to get a bigger view.

However, the other models in this group I believe came out quite well. The dragon I’m especially pleased with. As the woodman thing above is approx normal human sized this is a fairly significant model in size. The lighting when I took the picture does not really show that the scales on it’s lower side do have an orange tint to them.

The Minotaur also came out nicely. The weapon has a slight bend to it but that’s ok. I did not want to try to fix that as it was more likely to just make it worse. It also ensures the model is in a nicely contained space on the table.

Finally this rat monster with his little controller is a fun model as well. I’m sure there is background for this combination in the rules but when painting it I just went for it. I remembered that the little guy was green (I think) so used that. I like the way it came out and it’s a cool looking model.

 

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 28mm, Board game, Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Myth monsters and an odd hero

  1. They’re cool. My favourite is the giant rat thing with the little jockey on board hehe. Nice paint work

  2. Really cool selection of models. I love the rat rider. That is exactly what an evil little Goblin would do for a living.

Leave a Reply

