Halloween Special – Blood Bowl Beach Boos

It’s Halloween so something special today – the first shots of sone of my latest Blood Bowl team – the Beach Boos. In this post you have a quite summary of their games so far and then a few close up pictures of the models. These are a GW Shambling Dead team – styled from the Beach Boys. I live in an area of the city called the Beach so it was an obvious, fun choice for a team name. All the players will be named after beach boy songs – for example one of the Mummy’s has to be called ‘Awake’.

So far they have played 2 games with them and won both – although to be fair the first win only occurred because my opponent got greedy on hits. In the last turn of the game they could have run the ball in for a draw as there had been no way of me stopping them. But they failed a hit, so ended their turn without doing that. I’ll still take the win.

In the Boos game this weekend, the weather was rain in the Surfside graveyard – which made the ball slippery, meaning all ball handling tests were harder. Interestingly, although there was not that many fans in attendance, they were very vocal – every single kick off event was cheering fans in the game! I guess the rain kept the undead away from the waves, so they came to watch Blood Bowl.

My opponent played a Khorne team and they started hitting very well. They injured and caused casualties to my players all across the field. Luckily one of them regenerated and the other was just out for the game, but I had a lot of players on the floor. That calmed down somewhat but the first few turns were brutal. That was balanced out though by the fact that they could not pick up the ball. I had kicked to them in the first half so the ball was in their half. This allowed me to get 4 players behind the main scrum on the center line to contest the ball, This also started to cause even more problems for them picking up the ball,

Several turns were spent with both teams hitting each other around the ball, as the negatives to the pick up were so high. Eventually, after a few failed pick ups and bounces, one of my ghouls finally got it and ran in for a score. It was a great start for the game for me. It left 3 turns in the half for the Khorne team to try to score to even things. But but the rain still cause them continuing issues. All through the half they could not pick up the ball. That being said they soon prioritized just hitting the Boos instead. So, half time came with the Beach Boos in the lead. The score and half time allowed the KO’s to return to the field as well. So even though a lot of hits had been thrown the there was still a roughly equal number of players on the field.

The Boos received the ball at the start of the second half. They also failed to pick up the wet ball, but as luck would have it, it bounced around their players till one finally did grab it. The Beach Boos at least started to even things up on the casualties score as well – even managing to injure the big nasty Khorne monster.

This allowed them to cage up and move steadily up the field. That lead to them scoring to give them a 2 to 0 lead. This left a couple of turns for the Khnorne team to get a score if they were lucky. This time they managed to handle the ball at least (I had started joking that they may play the game and not manage to pick up the ball at all). But, it was to not help and they could not score. They tried but a decent defense held them up enough that time ran out for them. So it was a win in a wet game for the Beach Boos.

So here are some close up of some of the figures. They are done and varnished but I have yet to decide on the rim colour of players. I quite like the undercoat but in some figs I got some paint on that. So I may try to do a similar redish hue on them. This is only half the team so I’ll do another post with the rest.

The biggest players in the team are the Mummy’s. There are 2 of them and they are slow – but reliable big guys, which is unusual for Blood Bowl.

Next we have two Ghouls. The team can have 4 of these and so I plan on using the GW Necromantic Horror team figs for those. I will paint that team in the same colours (but call it something different) so I can reuse those figs.

Next we have some Zombies – one the linemen of the shambling undead and slightly faster than the Zombies, but not quite as tough. I have painted these up so at a push I can use them as Skeletons if needed. I know anyone will complain that much, as long as it is clear.

Lastly for this post is a skeleton. These are slightly faster than the zombies but easier to kill. They are a fun set of models though and fairly easy to paint so I like that. I’ll talk more about that though in another post with the rest of the models.

Well have a good Halloween…from the Beach Boos, and me in general.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 28mm, BloodBowl, Sideline Report and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Halloween Special – Blood Bowl Beach Boos

  1. Faust says:

    Happy Halloween to you too! And a great time to show off your freshly painted Undead! I ran the Undead in a league back in the day, and had great fun with them. They can be pretty powerful. Never faced Khorne though, and that sounds like a pretty brutal battle!

    • mellis1644 says:

      Thanks and yes the new teams like Khorne and the revised Nurgle are fun additions to the game. GW is actually. doing good things with this game. As I was painting them I thought I had to post about these today.

  2. Nice looking team, Mark, and a well-timed post! 🙂

  3. Argentbadger says:

    They look great, especially your very suitable choice of colours. Lovely painting.

Leave a comment