Blood Bowl – Beach Boos team

At Halloween I showed some these models for the first time. Now I have completed the team so time to show them as a full team. I took inspiration from an old beach boys logo I found on the web. That was after thinking about teams name. A bit of computer work and I had my team logo and the colour scheme as well – Orange/Red and Green. The team theme is set.

You can see the full team below. The colour scheme is a little different for an undead team but with the above as inspiration and the team name, I wanted to give them a lighter look than the typical undead.

I’m using beach boys song titles for player names. I found a great list online of those which allows for some fun names. So I have a Mummy called ‘Awake’ and a zombie called ‘I-went-to-sleep’. Also ‘Mona’ and ‘Mona-Kana’ seem perfect names for undead players. There are a lot of good options with their song names.

I went with a grey gravel style base coverage though, with patches of burnt grass. It seemed thematic and lets be honest a bunch of beach bum undead are unlikely to be great grounds keepers! A couple of the bases I did a white line for the pitch markings, but I did not want to overdo that. Doing it on too many may spoil the effect.

I have shown the Mummies and Ghouls in the previous post but here they are again fully finished now. These are key parts of the shambling undead team roster. Having the strength 5 guys with no negatives for activation is a nice thing to have in the team.

Next are the Wights. These are the only team members who start with block so are useful in the team. Their winged helmets make them stand out from the linemen in the team.They also have more silver on their helmets as well. As with most GW kits these two models are the same so I posed them slightly differently and then painted then opposing colours so they are easier to identify (for me in play) as well as with the team player number.

Next are 4 zombies again in 2 repeated poses. I used different heads and colours to make them not look like clones. This does give the team a more shambolic look – which sort of suites the beach bum concept that I was going for as well.

Lastly, are 4 skeletons. The same slight change in pose and use of colours allows these to look different. These models were easier to get into different poses the the zombies because of the design of the kit. I am sure if I really want I will use these to be Zombies. The skeletons extra movement (at the cost of armour) makes them useful in the team.

So thats the GW team box. The one thing that is missing for a full roster is 2 more Ghouls. Those are really needed in this team. It’s a fairly slow and unskilled team without the extra Ghouls. Although in my 2 games so far I have managed to win without them. I do have a plan for that. I will provide more details on that soon.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 28mm, BloodBowl, Board game and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blood Bowl – Beach Boos team

  1. Nicely done, Mark! 🙂 I do like that colour scheme!

Leave a comment