Dark Ages – my collection made in 2021…

Well in 2021 anyone following my blog will know all too well that I painted a lot of Dark Age 15mm figs. So I thought a good way to close out last year and start a new one would be to get all the toys out for an audit and photo shoot. So below is the full picture of the results. Yes just a few models…

One may say that I have gone overboard with the project but heck what is life about if you can’t go overboard on our hobbies and other things we enjoy. To be fair I hosted a 400 pts ADLG game with some these models and loads left over just before Xmas.

Note, I likely have not finished painting for this period. However, I likely have enough of the standard troops. So anything I add will likely be more things like objectives/camps oh and maybe some priests or other character models. I also need some sling armed troops, as I have found that those are something I do not have many off. 🙂

I likely will also focus now on more formed forces such as the later Romans/Carolinians who can be opponents to these guys. I guess a few arab types might be good as well as the Franks/Saxons/Vikings definitely encroached and encountered those peoples as well. However, I have started on Gauls as a side project for now.

I have already used these for various games (big ancient games especially as mentioned) and want to use them for more. I really plan/want to use them for things such as Dix Brit and the Peter Pig Vikings game as well. I just have not got around to doing that yet and it required me reading more rules as well.

Ok so as a summary/audit of what is here I thought I would do a full count of all the bases/models that have. Note, all the bases are DBX style and sizes but I have used ADLG terms.

So first the skirmish troops:

2 x light foot crossbows (2 figs on a 40x20mm base)

24 x light foot bows (2 figs on a 40x20mm base)

12 x light foot javelins (2 figs on a 40x20mm base)

Next are the missile troops:

32 x bowmen (3 figures on a 40x20mm base)

10 x bowmen (4 figs on a 40x20mm base)

4 x crossbow (4 figs per 40x20mm base)

Then we have the levy/table troops:

4 x levy (dogs and controllers on a 40×30 base)

20 x levy (5 figs per 40x30mm base)

We the move to the spearmen:

15 x medium spear (3 figs per 40x20mm base)

14 x medium spear (4 figs per 40x20mm base)

68 x heavy spear (4 figs per 40x15mm base)

21 x heavy armoured spear (4 figs per 40x15mm base)

The swordsmen/blades are the biggest single group of the set though with

38 x medium swordsman (3 figs per 40x20mm base)

43 x medium swordsman (4 figs per 40x20mm base)

83 x heavy swordsman (4 figs per 40x15mm base)

28 x heavy swordsman- dane axes (4 figs per 40x15mm base)

Next the mounted troops:

5 x light horse (2 mounted figs per 40x30mm bases)

29 x knights (3 mounted figs per 40x30mm bases)

17 x non knightly cavalry (3 mounted figs per 40x30mm bases)

Finally, all the miscellaneous types of bases.

29 x command bases, including a single 28mm commander if I ever need it (each on a 40mm circular base)

31 x ambush/pillage/camp etc markers (all on 40mm square)

24 x dead figs (30mm round)

8 x crosses (20mm round)

26 x character models (various sized bases below 40mm round)

So here is a final shot of all the models – this is well over 2200 figures and just for one project. So onto bigger and better things for 2022. Oh and Happy New Year to you all.

About mellis1644

A painter and gamer who has no illusions about being the best painter but likes to play with decently painted toys and have fun gaming
This entry was posted in 15mm, Ancients, Dark Ages and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dark Ages – my collection made in 2021…

  1. That is A LOT of troops! 🙂 It’ll be interesting following you progress in 2022!

  2. Argentbadger says:

    Goodness me that is a mighty force. Great work to have done so much on this project, though of course we all know that hobby projects are never truly finished.

  3. anthony says:

    One massive army there, or two very good sized armies to battle across the tabletop.

    Well done on a great yearly effort. Can’t wait to see what 2022 brings.

Leave a comment